UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health    |   School of Medicine Translate:
UCLA Health It Begins With U

UCLA Department of Nursing


Step Down Units

Excellence at every level of care.

At UCLA Health System, we are committed to the highest-quality care for every level of a patient's needs. Our nurses in our various Step-Down Units are able to provide specialized and continuous attention, as patients move through different−and sometimes difficult−processes of treatment or recovery.


Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center 

Coronary Observation Unit

A comprehensive cardiac unit for hemodynamically stable patients who require continuous monitoring. Inpatient nursing care is provided to patients experiencing the following cardiac problems or undergoing the following cardiac procedures: Acute Coronary Syndrome, cardiomyopathy, pre and post operational heart transplant, heart transplant rejection, arrhythmias, ultrafiltration, pre and post insertion of Automatic Implantable Cardiac Defibrillator (AICD), pre and post pacemaker insertion, pre and post percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) and stable Ventricular Assist Device. 

Cardiothoracic Surgical Unit

This unit serves patients who have a variety of medical and surgical diagnoses requiring a high level of intermediate care observation. The typical patient diagnoses include: post coronary bypass graft, valve repair or replacements, heart transplants, lung transplants, lung resections and esophageal surgeries, and various medical diagnoses such as pulmonary hypertension, GI bleed, rule out MI, heart failure, respiratory failure, renal failure, trauma, and surgical patients who have a noted monitored need such as EKG changes.


UCLA Medical Center, Santa Monica

Intermediate Care Unit

This unit provides care to geriatric and acute medicine patients who are admitted with acute and chronic medical conditions. Holistic patient care includes spiritual, cultural, physical and psychosocial history and needs of the patient. The types of patients served are admitted with a variety of diagnoses requiring specific, prescribed cardiac monitoring, and include cardiovascular, pulmonary, medical and surgical disease. Patients may be admitted directly to the unit from home, physician's office, ER, or PACU. Patients may be transferred from the Critical Care Unit, or the medical/surgical floor as appropriate to the level of care, and/or monitoring specific needs.


UCLA Rated One of the Top Hospitals in the Nation